top of page
National HBCU Logo 1.png

Milton Wilson Award

MiltonWilson (1).jpg

The Milton Wilson award is presented to a past Business School Dean in recognition of leadership, service and commitment to the academic profession. This award is given in honor of Dr. Milton Wilson.


Dr. Wilson was among the nation’s first 100 African American CPAs, the first in the state of Texas, and was one of the first seven African Americans to earn a doctoral degree in accounting. Dr. Wilsons’ vision and commitment to excellence in higher education at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) resulted in his leading two HBCUs to earn accreditation for the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), the only dean to accomplish this feat. Dr. Wilson was also instrumental in the creation of the African American Accounting Doctoral Students Association (AAASA) which led to the PHD Project Doctoral Students Association.


At the time of his passing in 2003, Dr. Wilson was Dean Emeritus at Howard University.


Past Award Recipients Include:

Milton Wilson (2003)
Sybil Mobley (2004)
Quiester Craig (2005)
Percy Vaughn (2006)
Lincoln Harrison (2007)
Edward Irons (2008)
Willis Sheftall (2009)
Otis Thomas (2010)
Barron Harvey (2011)
Tilden Curry (2012)
John Williams  (2013)

Partner With Us Today!

bottom of page